65 members and guests gathered for the 2017 Christmas ball and prize-giving at Plas Heli, and were treated to an excellent three course dinner cooked and served by the hardworking and outstanding catering and events team, lead by Heidi Bakewell.

During the dinner Commodore Eifion Owen gave an account of the years activities, and then handed over to Hon. Secretary Stephen Tudor to start the prize-giving ceremony.


HonSecAndCommodoreHon Secretary and Skipper of Sgrech Stephen Tudor receiving the prestigious “King Constantine Cup” from Commodore Eifion Owen. Photo Gerallt Williams


Team “Aquaplane” were awarded the Ebblake Trophy for 1st in class 2 for the Welsh Coastal Series and Team “Jac Y Do” the Pwllheli Challenge PYS trophy for 1st in class 2.

Madddie Rouse (Theia) won the Tremadog Triangle (NHC) and awarded the Holton trophy, with the IRC version, the Trimor trophy awarded to Luvly Jubbly.

Brian Dixon (Parabia) was awarded the “merit trophy” for his enthusiasm and commitment to racing at Pwllheli.

The “Sgrech”team were awarded the King Constantine cup for 1st in the Pwllheli/ISORA night race, the Careg y Defaid trophy for highest placed PSC boat in class 1/2 of the IRC Welsh Championships, and the Gwenolfa Cup for winning the Pwllheli Regatta.

Andrew Hall’s “Jackknife” team were awarded the Parssen trophy for 1st overall in the August PSC/ISORA long bay race, and the Deeley trophy for 1st place in class O of the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series.

BrianDixonBrian Dixon being awarded the “Merit Trophy”. Photo Gerallt Williams


The “Mojito” team lead by Peter Dunlop and Vicky Cox were awarded the Midland bowl for 1st overall and class 1 in the Global Displays Welsh Coastal Series, the Aberech bowl for winning the April CHPSC/ISORA “Castle Race” the Sol Owen cup for the Easter Series, the Pwllheli Challenge Trophy IRC for 1st overall and class 1 in the Pwllehli Challenge Series, and the Livingstone trophy “achievement trophy” for best cumulative results over the season, winning both the Wolf’s Head for the ISORA Series, and PSC club racing results.

MojitoPeter Dunlop and Victoria Cox with Commodore Eifion Owen. Photo Gerallt Williams


Finally the teams from Sgrech Mojito Jackknife and Aquaplane we’re recognised for winning the Royal Dee trophy for best team results in ISORA, and awarded RORC medallions for the Lyver race.

After dinner a great disco got virtually everyone up dancing with lots of chat and discussion in the bar about next years club and ISORA racing programme, with news that Global Displays will continue to sponsor the Welsh Coastal Series which has been expanded to four races.

An excellent night enjoyed by all.

The 2018 race schedule is being finalised by racing captain Vicky Cox and should be available at www.pwllhelisailingclub.co.uk shortly

DancingDancing at Plas Heli. photo Gerallt Williams